Sumter County Family Connection holds planning session

Print This Post

Sumter County Family Connection
From left: Stephen Woodson, Annie Leggett, Nancy Collins, Elaine Larkin, Mitzi Bacon and Sheila Hines.

Submitted by Sumter Family Connection

by Beth Alston

AMERICUS—On June 11, members of the Sumter County Family Connection Collaborative (SCFC) met to begin planning for the 2015-2016 fiscal year. The mission of SCFC is to bring together community stakeholders to develop and implement evidence-based strategies that improve conditions for children and families in Sumter County.

Michael Johnson, Community Support specialist with Georgia Family Connection Partnership (GaFCP), facilitated a review, discussion and approval of the SCFC by-laws. The next order of business was the election of collaborative officers. Elected as chair is Elaine Larkin, the Rosalynn Carter Institute for Caregiving; vice chair is Mitzi Parker, Sumter UGA Extension; secretary/treasurer is Annie Leggett, Middle Flint Behavioral Healthcare; and at large Committee members are Sheila Hines, Paxen Learning Center; Stephen Woodson, SWGA Children’s Alliance; Katrisha Williams, Adolescent Health and Youth Development and Nancy Collins, Middle Flint Behavioral Healthcare.

Annetta Berry, Community Support specialist with GaFCP, facilitated a discussion with the group that will lead to the development of the SCFC annual strategic plan. This planning process included identifying the evidence-based needs and priorities in the community and identifying what activities and programs will support those needs.

If you or your agency/business would like to partner with this important group in the community, contact any member of the Sumter County Family Connection Collaborative. The next Collaborative meeting will be at noon on July 16 at the Sumter County Extension Office, U.S. Highway 19 South. Bring a brown-bag lunch and come get involved in this important work in our community.

Read the story on

Georgia Family Connection is a statewide network with a Collaborative in all 159 counties.